
The law* is tough on anyone caught selling or possessing 
illegal drugs in or within one city block or three hundred feet 
of any Minnesota:

•	 Park
•	 Public Housing Project
•	 School

The law states that a park, public housing, and school zones 
begin at the boundaries of the property and extend three 
hundred feet from that point, or one city block, whichever 
distance is greater.

The law is also tough on anyone caught selling or possessing 
illegal drugs: 

•	 Within a School Bus transporting elementary or 
secondary students

•	 Inside, or on any property belonging to, a drug 
treatment facility

Adults convicted of the sale or possession of illegal drugs 
in a school zone, park zone, public housing zone, or drug 
treatment facility can be sentenced as follows:

Sale of Narcotic Drugs (Methamphetamine, Amphetamine, 
Cocaine, Crack, Opium, Heroin, LSD) or 5 kilograms of 
Marijuana

•	 Up to 25 years in prison
•	 Up to a $500,000 fine
•	 Repeat Sale - up to 40 years in prison with a required 

sentence of at least 3 years

Possession of Narcotic Drugs (Methamphetamine, 
Amphetamine, Cocaine, Crack, Opium, Heroin, or 5 or more 
dosage units of LSD)

• 	 Up to 20 years in prison
• 	 Up to a $250,000 fine

Sale of Any Amount of Marijuana
• 	 Up to 15 years in prison
• 	 Up to a $100,000 fine

Sentencing may be further increased with possession or 
use of a dangerous weapon in these zones.

Separately, the Minnesota Legislature also made sale 
or possession of drugs in a park zone, school zone, 
correctional facility, or treatment facility one of eight 
potential aggravating factors, which may increase 
penalties in the following circumstances:

Sale or Possession of 100 or more grams or 500 or more 
dosage units of Cocaine, Methamphetamine, Heroin, 
a Narcotic Drug, Amphetamine, Phencyclidine, or a 
Hallucinogen while either possessing a gun or along with 2 
aggravating factors

•	 Up to 40 years in prison with at least 86 months in 
prison

•	 Up to a $1,000,000 fine

Sale of 10 grams or more Cocaine or Methamphetamine 
along with 2 aggravating factors, or possession 25 grams 
or more of Cocaine or Methamphetamine along with 2 
aggravating factors

•	 Up to 30 years in prison
•	 Up to a $1,000,000 fine
•	 Repeat Sale - up to 40 years in prison with a required 

sentence of at least 4 years

Sale of 3 grams or more Cocaine or Methamphetamine 
along with 3 aggravating factors, or possession of 10 
grams or more Cocaine or Methamphetamine along with 3 
aggravating factors

•	 Up to 25 years in prison
•	 Up to a $500,000 fine
•	 Repeat Sale - up to 40 years in prison with a required 

sentence of at least 3 years

Juveniles convicted of these crimes who are at least 14 
years old can be treated as an adult and sentenced in an 
adult court.
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This flyer is published pursuant to Minnesota Statute § 152.029 

* Minnesota Statutes 152.01, 152.021-152.024


