
MINNESOTA ATTORNEY GENERAL’S OFFICE •  445 MINNESOTA STREET, SUITE 1400 •  ST.  PAUL,  MN  55101
(651)  296-3353 •  1-800-657-3787 •  TTY (651)  297-7206 •  TTY 1-800-366-4812 •  WWW.AG.STATE.MN.US

What Is Stalking?
Stalking is intentionally following or harassing another 
person. The victims may live in constant fear of their 
stalkers—who can include former spouses, expartners, 
or strangers. Stalking is a serious crime in Minnesota.

Stalking victims are often forced to live in fear and 
terror, screening telephone calls and altering living 
arrangements. Stalking is harassment and more. Stalking 
is a form of terrorism. 

Stalking is a crime that can touch anyone, regardless of 
gender, race, sexual orientation, socio-economic status, 
geographic location, or with whom a person associates. 
Stalking is not the victim’s fault!

Minnesota’s Anti-Stalking Law
Minnesota Statutes Section 609.749 prohibits harassing 
another person by engaging in intentional conduct 
in a manner which would cause the victim under the 
circumstances to feel frightened, threatened, oppressed, 
persecuted, or intimidated, and which causes this 
reaction on the part of the victim.

It is a Gross Misdemeanor punishable by up to one 
year in jail to harass another by committing any of the 
following acts:
•	 directly or indirectly manifesting a purpose or intent 

to injure the person, property, or rights of another by 
the commission of an unlawful act

•	 stalking, following, or pursuing another
•	 returning to the property of another without authority
•	 making repeated telephone calls to the victim or 

inducing a victim to make telephone calls to the 
actor

•	 continuously ringing the telephone of another
•	 repeatedly causing the delivery of letters, messages, 

telegrams, packages, or other objects, including 
electronically, to the victim’s home or work

It is a Felony punishable by up to ten years in prison 
under some circumstances including:
•	 if the perpetrator possesses a dangerous weapon at 

the time of the offense
•	 if the perpetrator commits a harassment offense 

within ten years of discharge from a domestic 
violence related offense, including harassment

•	 if the perpetrator targets a victim because of the 
victim’s or another’s race, color, religion, sex, sexual 
orientation, disability, age, or national origin

•	 if the perpetrator commits any offense described 
above by falsely impersonating another

•	 if the perpetrator targets a victim under the age of 
18 and the perpetrator is more than 36 months older 
than the victim

•	 if the perpetrator engages in a pattern of harassing 
conduct against one victim or a household

For Help Or Information
Call 911, the police, the sheriff, or your local domestic 
abuse program. You can also call the following:

Minnesota Domestic Violence Crisis Line 
1-866-223-1111

National Domestic Violence Hotline 
1-800-799-SAFE (7233) 
TTY: 1-800-787-3224 

www.ndvh.org

Minnesota Coalition for Battered Women 
(651) 646-6177 or 1-800-289-6177 

www.mcbw.org/

Sexual Assault Crisis Line 
1-800-643-6250

24-Hour Crisis Referral Line 
2-1-1 or (651) 291-0211 

Phones at above numbers are answered 24 hours a day.

Crime Victim Justice Unit Referral Hotline 
1-800-247-0390 (M-F 8:00-4:30)
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I. Call 911 Or The Police Or Sheriff.
The first thing to do when any stalking incident occurs 
is to call your local law enforcement agency. Explain 
exactly what happened and request that a report be taken 
to document the incident. Get the report number and 
responding officer’s name.

II. Stalking Doesn’t Stop With 911.
Empower Yourself! Take these extra precautions:

•	 Obtain a Restraining Order or an Order for 
Protection. A restraining order or order for 
protection requires the offender to stay away from 
you, and it is a crime to violate a restraining order 
or order for protection. However, restraining orders 
and orders for protection are not foolproof. You 
must do more to protect your safety.

•	 Notify family and friends who may be helpful in 
formulating a contingency plan. Ask them to keep 
an eye out for strange occurrences. Inform a trusted 
neighbor and/or co-worker about the situation. You 
may also want to meet with your local police to 
develop a plan of action.

•	 Maintain an unlisted phone number. Consider 
adding voice-mail and/or Caller I.D. telephone 
services. Tape record all calls.

•	 Make use of *57 on your touch-tone landline 
phone. Press *57 immediately after any unwanted 
phone calls and listen for directions from the 
telephone company, which will trace the call. There 
is a $1 charge per call for this service. (Dial 1157 on 
a rotary phone). Cell phone users should check with 
their service provider for cost and availability of this 
service.

•	 Contact your county attorney’s office. Many 
county attorneys offices have victim/witness 
advocates who can help you and keep you informed 
about your case.

Safety Alert!
Computer use can be monitored and it is 
impossible to completely clear information 
viewed on the Internet from your computer. If 
you are afraid your internet and/or computer 
usage might be monitored, please use a safer 
computer, and/or call your local hotline  
(Minnesota Domestic Violence Crisis Line 
1-866-223-1111), or call the National Domestic 
Violence Hotline 1-800-799-SAFE (7233).

III. Documentation.
Your help in proving incidents occur is essential!

•	 Write down the details of each stalking incident. 
Keep track of the dates and times of each incident, 
what the stalker said or did, clothing descriptions, 
when police were called, report numbers, and 
responding officers’ names. Also, try to record what 
you were feeling at the time of the incident. All of 
this information will be valuable during prosecution.

•	 Obtain copies of court orders, protective orders, and 
warrants, if possible.

•	 Keep your protective order and a photo of your 
abuser on you at all times.

•	 When you see the stalker, try to take a photograph if 
it can be done without endangering yourself.

•	 Save and date all written material that you receive 
from the stalker including cards, letters, notes, 
and envelopes (if possible, save in a plastic bag to 
preserve fingerprints).

•	 Save answering machine tapes and voicemail 
messages. Make a note of the date and time the 
stalker called.

•	 Preserve caller I.D. information and emails.

•	 Make a list of potential witnesses to the stalking 
incidents.

There are two kinds of court orders: Restraining Orders 
and Orders for Protection. BOTH are designed to stop 
the stalker and protect YOU.
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What Is A Restraining Order?
It is an order from the court which requires the stalker 
to stop harassing you. It may also require the stalker to 
cease all contact with you, including coming to your 
home, your school, or the place where you work.

What Is An Order For Protection?
An Order for Protection (“OFP”) is a special kind of 
restraining order for victims of domestic abuse. It may 
direct the stalker to:
•	 stop stalking you (through harassment, threats, or 

abuse)
•	 stay away from where you live, go to school, or 

work
•	 leave your household
•	 enter a counseling program

An OFP may also award temporary custody, child 
support, or use and possession of property.

Who Is Eligible For An Order For Protection?
You may obtain an OFP if you have recently been a victim 
of domestic violence. Domestic violence is defined as 
any act of abuse, including pushing, shoving, grabbing, 
slapping, punching, pulling hair, kicking, forcing sexual 
acts, or threatening with a weapon. You are eligible if 
you and the person who has abused you:
•	 are married or used to be married
•	 are parent and child
•	 live together or used to live together
•	 have a child in common (or the woman is pregnant 

and the man is the alleged father)
•	 are related by blood
•	 are involved in a significant romantic or sexual 

relationship

How To Get A Restraining Order Or Order 
For Protection.
Contact the Court Administration office of your county 
court. They will help you file a petition for a restraining 
order or OFP. You will not have to pay to file this petition 
and have it served on the stalker. The court will schedule 
a hearing within 14 days to decide whether to issue the 
restraining order or OFP. A temporary restraining order or 
ex parte OFP may be issued, which will protect you until 
the court holds the hearing. Under certain conditions, 

you may also file for a restraining order or OFP on 
behalf of your child. Forms, additional instructions and 
contact information for your county court administrator 
are available online at: www.mncourts.gov/selfhelp/

What Happens If A Restraining Order Or 
Order For Protection Is Violated?
If the stalker assaults you, threatens you, or refuses to 
stay away from you, call the police (911) immediately. 
They will come, and you can tell them what happened. It 
will be helpful for you to show the police a copy of your 
restraining order or OFP. In some cases, the police are 
required to make an arrest.

If the abuser doesn’t follow another part of the order—
for example, doesn’t pay child support, doesn’t attend 
counseling, harasses you by phone, or doesn’t abide by 
a child visitation order—the Minnesota Coalition for 
Battered Women (contact information below) can help 
you bring the case back to court.

Minnesota Coalition for Battered Women  
590 Park Street, Suite 410, St. Paul, MN 55103 

(651) 646-6177 or 1-800-289-6177 
www.mcbw.org

Rights Of Victims Of Domestic Abuse To 
Terminate Lease.
A victim of domestic violence who fears imminent 
domestic abuse if the tenant or the tenant’s minor 
children remain in the leased premises may terminate 
a residential lease agreement under certain conditions. 
The tenant must provide advance written notice to the 
landlord stating that:
1) The tenant fears imminent domestic abuse from 

a person named in an order for protection or no 
contact order; and

2) The tenant needs to terminate the tenancy; and
3) The specific date the tenancy will terminate.

The law requires that the advance written notice must 
be delivered before the termination of the tenancy by 
mail, fax, or in person, and must include the order for 
protection or no contact order. The landlord is prohibited 
from disclosing information provided in this written 
notification and may not enter the information into any 
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shared database and cannot provide it to any person or 
entity. However, the landlord may use the information 
as evidence in an eviction proceeding, action for unpaid 
rent or damages arising out of the tenancy, claims related 
to security deposits, with the tenant’s permission, or as 
otherwise required by law.

The tenant is responsible for the rent payment for the full 
month in which the tenancy terminates and an additional 
amount equal to one month’s rent. This amount must be 
paid on or before the tenancy terminates. In the event 
that the tenant owes the landlord rent or other amounts 
for a period before the termination of the lease, the 
tenant will continue to owe that amount to the landlord. 
If there are multiple tenants on the lease, the lease will 
continue for the remaining tenants.

Freeze Your Credit Report.
Victims of Domestic Violence/Abuse are at an increased 
risk for credit abuse and misuse of information in their 
credit files. The abuser may already have access to the 
victim’s personal information (Social Security number 
and/or birth date) and account information and be familiar 
with details of the victim’s life (mother’s maiden name, 
pets name, and answers to other “security questions”). 
Consumers in Minnesota are now able to “freeze” their 
credit reports. A credit report freeze will deny identity 
thieves access to the consumer’s credit history and 
prevent them from obtaining new credit cards or loans 
under the consumer’s name. Currently only victims of 
identity theft can have their credit reports frozen without 
charge. However any Minnesotan can proactively 
freeze their credit report for a $5 fee per credit reporting 
agency. For information on how to “Freeze” your credit 
reports contact the Attorney General’s Office and ask for 
the bulletin Protect Yourself From Identity Theft.

New Social Security Numbers For Domestic 
Violence Victims.
Although Social Security does not routinely assign new 
numbers, they will do so when evidence shows you are 
being harassed or abused or your life is endangered. 
Applying for a new number is a big decision. It may 
impact your ability to interact with federal and state 
agencies, employers and others. This is because your 

financial, medical, employment and other records will 
be under your former Social Security number and name 
(if you change your name). If you expect to change your 
name, we recommend you do so before applying for a 
new number.

How to apply for a new number
You must apply in person at any Social Security office. 
They will help you complete a statement explaining why 
you need a new number and an application for a new 
number.

You will need to present:

•	 Evidence documenting the harassment or abuse;

•	 Your current Social Security number;

•	 Original documents establishing your:

•	 U.S. citizenship or immigration status;

•	 Age;

•	 Identity; and

•	 Evidence of your legal name change if you have 
changed your name.

Also, they will need to see original documents showing 
you have custody of any children for whom you are 
requesting new numbers and documentation proving 
their U.S. citizenship, ages and identities.

1 in 12 women and 1 in 45 men will be stalked in their 
lifetime.

Stalking is a form of terrorism. Minnesota’s anti-
stalking law is aimed at a pattern of terrorizing behavior 
that is not covered under other laws. The purpose of the 
law is to stop acts of repeated following, harassing, and 
terrorizing.

Being stalked is always frightening and sometimes 
dangerous. But remember you are not powerless. Do 
not ignore the situation. Take action. There are many 
sources of help.

You have the right to feel safe!
STALKING is a crime in Minnesota!


