
Many people are financially squeezed—living paycheck 
to paycheck—and may seek the temporary financial 
help of a short-term Internet loan to pay for such things 
as a car repair, utilities, groceries, etc. Internet lenders 
may offer easy credit, but this credit comes with a 
hefty price tag and often leaves a rash of problems in 
its wake. In addition to charging extremely high fees or 
rates of interest, many of these lenders are not licensed 
to do business in Minnesota. Providing your personal 
information to such unlicensed entities over the Internet 
could lead to unauthorized withdrawals from your 
bank account, identity theft, or phony collection scams 
perpetrated by international crime rings.

The Attorney General’s Office has filed lawsuits against 
numerous Internet lenders that made loans to cash-
strapped Minnesota borrowers that were marketed as 
providing “cash between paydays,” but that contained 
unlawfully high annual interest rates of up to 782 percent 
and that were often illegally extended from paycheck to 
paycheck, trapping the borrower in a cycle of expensive 
debt. The loans are often called “payday loans.” 

Internet Payday Lenders. Numerous short-term or 
payday loan websites operate on the Internet. A customer 
generally types in their personal information, including 
their Social Security and bank account numbers, and the 
loan may be deposited into their bank account within 
hours. Although the quick cash promised by these loans 
may sound attractive, consumers should make sure that 
they know what costs they are agreeing to pay signing 
up for such loans. They should also make sure the lender 
is licensed with the State of Minnesota. Minnesota law 
caps the amount of fees that can be charged on payday 
loans. If a payday loan is less than $350, Minnesota 
rates are capped on a sliding scale as follows:

LOAN AMOUNT FEE

$0 - $50 $5.50

$50 - $100 10 percent, plus a $5 fee

$100 - $250 7 percent (minimum of $10),  
plus a $5 fee

$250 -$350 6 percent (minimum $17.50),  
plus a $5 fee

For loans between $350 and $1,000, payday lenders 
cannot charge more than 33 percent annual interest plus 
a $25 fee. Minnesotans should not obtain payday loans 
that do not meet these fee caps. 

Payday lenders must be licensed with the State of 
Minnesota. Minnesota’s payday loan statute provides 
certain protections to Minnesota consumers. All payday 
lenders, including Internet payday lenders that make 
loans to Minnesota residents, must comply with its 
provisions, including its licensure provisions and rate 
caps. 

The Attorney General’s Office warns Minnesotans 
against taking out loans over the Internet from unlicensed 
lenders, having seen a growing list of complaints to the 
office from consumers who have done business with such 
companies. Consumers who have taken out or even just 
explored the option of short term loans from unlicensed 
Internet companies have experienced the following types 
of problems:

•	 High interest rates. Minnesota law caps the interest 
that licensed lenders may charge. Unlicensed Internet 
payday lenders regularly violate these caps, charging 
annual interest rates of up to 782 percent. 

•	 Auto-extensions. A 2009 Minnesota law prohibits 
a short-term lender from extending payday loans 
of less than $350 for over 30 days and from using 
the proceeds of one payday loan to pay off another. 
Online lenders routinely violate these laws by either 
extending the loan and withdrawing only interest 
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charges or by “rolling over” the loan, paying off the 
old loan with the proceeds from the new loan. These 
practices can turn a payday loan—advertised as a 
short-term financial fix—into a long-term financial 
nightmare where borrowers pay far more in interest 
than they intended to borrow. 

•	 Unauthorized withdrawals. When consumers 
take out an online loan, they must provide their 
banking and personal information. Some consumers 
report that unlicensed lenders made unauthorized 
withdrawals from their accounts, sometimes of 
hundreds of dollars. 

•	 Unlawful debt collection tactics. Consumers report 
that some online lenders and their collectors use 
illegal debt collection tactics, such as threatening that 
the consumer will be taken to jail and prosecuted for 
a financial crime, or attempting to illegally garnish 
their paycheck. 

•	 Phony collection scam. Some consumers who 
did not even take out a payday loan, but who only 
explored the option online, report being hounded 
by overseas scam artists who threaten to have them 
arrested if they do not pay, even though the consumer 
does not owe any money. These scam artists contact 
the consumers, often impersonating attorneys or 
law enforcement, demand large payments, and 
frequently attempt to scare or intimidate consumers 
into paying with threats of arrest or legal action 
against them or their families. 

Advance Fee Internet Loans. Consumers should 
also be on guard against Internet loans that require a 
borrower to pay an upfront fee, or so-called “advance 
fee.” Fraudulent operators target would-be borrowers 
with promises of being able to find them loans during 
this “credit crunch,” only to collect up-front fees from 
them and then disappear. Be on guard against such 
“advance fee loan” scams. Federal regulators, such as the 
Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and the Federal 
Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), report increases 
in this scam nationwide.  Many fraudulent operators 
create flashy and professional-looking websites to lure 
in victims who seek credit in the difficult economy, 
but are having a hard time finding a loan through 
traditional channels. The supposed “lender” offers to 

make a loan to help with cash flow needs, but requires 
that the “borrower” first send the lender (usually via a 
wire transfer) a loan processing fee of hundreds or even 
thousands of dollars. The hitch is this: Once you wire the 
money, you will never see the loan proceeds.

The Attorney General’s Office offers the following 
advice to consumers considering online loans:
•	 Before doing business with an Internet lender, make 

sure it is licensed to operate in Minnesota. You may 
check the Commerce Department website online 
at www.commerce.state.mn.us, or you may call  
651-539-1500. 

•	 Check if the Internet lender is complying with 
state interest rate caps and other state consumer 
protections. 

•	 Be wary about giving out information online to 
unknown Internet companies. This can expose you 
to potential privacy and fraud risks. Disreputable 
Internet companies can use your bank account 
number to make unauthorized withdrawals and 
drain your account. 

•	 Beware of companies that ask you to pay upfront fees 
in order to borrow money. If an Internet company 
disappears with your upfront fee, the money may be 
difficult to track down.

Make Sure the Internet Lender is Licensed. Before 
signing up with an Internet lender, borrowers should 
check with the Minnesota Department of Commerce to 
see if the entity is licensed to make loans in Minnesota:

Minnesota Department of Commerce 
85 East 7th Place, Suite 500  

St. Paul, MN 55101  
651-539-1500  

www.commerce.state.mn.us

For more information, or to file a complaint, contact the 
Minnesota Attorney General’s Office as follows:

Office of Minnesota Attorney General Lori Swanson 
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1400 

St. Paul, MN 55101 
651-296-3353 or 800-657-3787 

TTY: 651-297-7206 or 800-366-4812 
www.ag.state.mn.us
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