Debt Collection Fact Sheet

From the Office of Minnesota Attorney General Lori Swanson

How can a debt collector contact
you?

*  Collectors may contact you by mail, telephone,
telegram, or fax between the hours of 8 a.m. and
9p.m.

*  Collectors may not contact you at work if they
have reason to know your employer prohibits such
communications.

*  Collectors may contact other people to find out
your home address and phone number or your work
location, but they cannot say that you owe money
or that they work for a collection agency. Collectors
may not tell others that you owe a debt.

* If you have a lawyer, collectors may not contact
anyone but your lawyer.

What rights do you have regarding
debt collection?

*  You can stop collectors from calling or writing to
you by sending them a letter asking them to stop.
Once they get your letter, they can only contact you
to tell you that they are stopping their collection
efforts or tell you what legal remedies they intend
to pursue. Remember that this does not give you the
right to ignore court papers.

*  You can dispute that you owe all or part of a debt
or ask for the name and address of the creditor (the
person you allegedly owe). To do so, you must write
to the collector within 30 days after you receive an
initial letter or call about the debt. If you do this,
collectors must stop trying to collect until they send
you proof that you owe the debt.

What debt collection practices are
prohibited?

Harassment and Abuse. Collectors cannot harass,
oppress, or abuse you or any other person they contact.
Specifically, they cannot swear at you, threaten harm to
you, call you repeatedly in an attempt to annoy you, call
you without disclosing their identity, or publicize your
name as someone who refuses to pay debts.

Misleading Statements. Collectors cannot use any
false, deceptive, or misleading statements when trying
to collect a debt. Specifically, they cannot misrepresent
the amount you owe, make a letter look as though it
is from the government or a court, imply that they are
government representatives, imply that nonpayment will
lead to your arrest or garnishment, or threaten to disclose
false information about you to a credit bureau.

Unfair Practices. Collectors may not use unfair or
unconscionable means to collect a debt. Specifically,
they cannot collect any amount greater than your debt,
deposit a post-dated check prematurely, deceive you into
paying for collect calls, threaten to take your property
unless they can legally do so, contact you by postcard,
or apply your payment to a debt other than the one you
have indicated.

How can a creditor garnish your
wages or bank account?

Starting the Garnishment Process. If you don’t pay a
bill, creditors can garnish your wages by suing you, then
garnishing your wages or bank accounts based either on
the judgment they get in court or on the default judgment
they could get if you do not respond to the lawsuit. Thus,
if you get a “complaint” (the document that begins
a lawsuit), you should contact a lawyer to help you
respond to the allegations. If you negotiate a payment
plan with the creditor, be sure to put it in writing.
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Protections from Garnishment. Generally, creditors How can | report a violation of law?

cannot garnish more than 25 percent of your net wages.
Creditors also cannot take any of your wages for six (6) Write or call the Minnesota Attorney General’s Office or
months after you have received public assistance based the Minnesota Department of Commerce at:
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Program (MFIP), Emergency Assistance (EA),
Diversionary Work Program, Medical Assistance (MA),
General Assistance (GA), General Assistance Medical
Care (GAMC), Emergency General Assistance (EGA),
Supplemental Security Income (SSI), and Energy or Fuel
Assistance. (If you deposit your public assistance in a
bank account, creditors cannot garnish your account for

60 days.) Finally, creditors cannot take your home, or a Minnesota Department of Commerce
car, furniture, employee benefits, or insurance proceeds 85 7th Place East, Suite 500
up to certain values. St. Paul, MN 55101
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Claiming an “Exemption.” If you received public
www.commerce.state.mn.us

assistance, you may claim that your wages are “exempt”
from garnishment by promptly returning to the creditor
the “Garnishment Exemption Notice and Notice of Intent
to Garnish Earnings,” which is a form the creditor must
send to you at least 10 days before serving a Garnishment
Summons on your employer. To claim that funds in your
bank account are “exempt,” you should sign and return
within 14 days to the bank (and the creditor’s attorney)
the “Exemption Notice,” which is a form the bank sends
to you when they receive a Garnishment Summons from
the creditor to freeze money in your account.

Length and Amount of Garnishment. If you don’t
claim any exemptions, creditors can take part of your
paycheck for the next 70 days. Excluding child support,
you get to keep either 75 percent of your net wages or 40
times the federal minimum wage, whichever is greater.
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