
A contract is generally a legally-binding commitment 
(absent special circumstances, like fraud).  Once 
made, contracts may be difficult to cancel.  As a result, 
consumers should do their homework before signing a 
contract.

Consumers sometimes mistakenly believe that they 
have a legal right to cancel any contract, as long as they 
do so within a three-day “cooling-off” period.  Most 
contracts don’t provide for a “cooling-off” period, 
however.  Instead, the law gives consumers a legal right 
to cancel a contract within a “cooling-off” period only 
in certain specific situations.  

Contracts Subject to Cancellation 
Minnesota law only provides “cooling-off” periods or 
cancellation rights for specific types of contracts.  Some 
of the more common include:

Home Solicitation Sales. 
Minnesota’s Home Solicitation Sales Act—commonly 
known as the “Three-Day Cooling-Off Law”—applies 
to the sale, lease, and rental of goods and services for 
personal or household use, so long as the transaction 
is worth more than $25 and occurs in one’s home, 
over the telephone, or at a place other than the seller’s 
normal place of business (e.g., motels and convention 
centers).  When a transaction is covered by the Three-
Day Cooling-Off Law, you have three business days to 
cancel the contract.

Under the law, you must make cancellation requests in 
writing to the address provided by the seller.  You are 
encouraged to send cancellation requests by certified 
mail through the United States Postal Service and keep 
a copy of the request for your records.  While not legally 
required, mailing the cancellation request by certified 
mail will give you proof that your request was timely.  
After the contract is cancelled, the seller must refund 
your money within 10 days.

If the Three-Day Cooling-Off Law applies to a 
transaction, the seller is required to give you notice of 
your right to cancel in three forms:

1.	 The seller must orally explain your right to cancel.  

2.	 The seller must give you a receipt or copy of the 
contract that includes the date of the transaction, the 
seller’s name and address, and a statement regarding 
the right to cancel located near the signature block 
on the contract or on the front of the receipt if a 
contract is not used.  

3.	 The seller must attach to the receipt or contract two 
copies of a completed form, entitled, “NOTICE OF 
CANCELLATION,” which includes a description 
of the goods or services purchased, the date of the 
transaction, and a detailed explanation of how the 
contract may be cancelled.  The form required by 
law for this notice can be found at Minn. Stat. § 
325G.08.  

Until all three forms of notice are provided properly, 
you have a continuing right to cancel the contract that 
extends beyond three business days.  Once the seller 
provides notice properly, the three business days right to 
cancel begins to run.

The Three-Day Cooling-Off Law does not 
apply when you buy a vehicle.  It also does not 
cover transactions for less than $25, the sale of 
insurance or real estate, and sales conducted at 
public auction or at a merchant’s normal place 
of business, like a retail store.
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Life Insurance Policies. 
Under Minnesota law, consumers have a 10 day “free 
look” period to inspect life insurance policies.  If you 
return a life insurance policy within the “free look” 
period, the insurance company must cancel the policy 
and refund all the premiums paid.

Hearing Aids. 
You have the right to cancel the purchase of hearing aids 
within 45 days after receiving the hearing aids, and may 
not be charged a cancellation fee of more than $250 of 
the total purchase price for the hearing aids.  

Extended Car Warranties.  
Minnesota law provides that motor vehicle service 
contracts—commonly referred to as extended car 
warranties—must allow customers to return the contract 
within 20 days of the date the service contract was 
mailed, or within 10 days if the contract was delivered 
at the time of sale, or within a longer time period if 
provided by the contract.  Upon return of the contract, 
the provider must grant a refund of the full purchase 
price if no claim has been made under the contract.  

Military Personnel. 
Under a Minnesota law drafted by the Attorney 
General’s Office, military personnel may cancel cell 
phone or wireless service contracts without penalty 
when the service member is called to active duty.  
Military personnel may also cancel rental contracts, 
club contracts, service contracts, and membership travel 
contracts without penalty and receive a full refund of 
their deposit when a deployment or change in duty 
prevents the service member from using the service or 
abiding by the terms of the contract.  

Debt Management and Debt Settlement Services 
Contracts. 
A debt management services provider is a company 
or person that charges fees to distribute payments to a 
consumer’s creditors from funds the provider received 
from the consumer.  A debt settlement services provider 
is a company or person that charges fees to negotiate a 
lump-sum payoff of a consumer’s debt.  You may cancel 
contracts with debt management and debt settlement 

services providers at any time without cause by giving 
the provider 10 days’ written notice.  

Foreclosure Consultant Contracts. 
A foreclosure consultant is a company or person that 
charges fees to help homeowners with foreclosure-related 
services (e.g., stopping or postponing a foreclosure 
sale, modifying the terms of a consumer’s mortgage, 
or saving a consumer’s home from foreclosure).  Under 
Minnesota law, foreclosure consultants are prohibited 
from collecting fees until after they have provided a 
service to the homeowner.  You may cancel contracts 
with foreclosure consultants within three business days 
after the day on which the contract was signed.  

Credit Services Contracts. 
A credit services organization is a company or person 
that charges fees to help consumers obtain credit, 
improve their credit rating or history, or provide credit 
advice or assistance.  Under Minnesota law, a credit 
services organization cannot collect a fee until after it has 
completed all of the services it agreed to perform.  You 
may cancel a contract with a credit services organization 
in writing within five days from the date the contract 
was signed.  

Membership Travel Contracts. 
Membership travel operators charge people fees for the 
ability to make travel arrangements from or through 
the operator.  Buyers have a 10 day right to cancel their 
membership, which does not begin to run until they 
receive all of the materials necessary to make travel 
arrangements and explain the terms and conditions of the 
contract.  Notice of cancellation must be given in writing 
to the membership travel operator at the operator’s 
address (this address must be included in the contract).  
Under Minnesota law, travel club sellers must give 
buyers oral notice of the right to cancel at the time the 
contract is signed, and include a specific written notice 
of the right to cancel prescribed by the statute next to the 
buyer’s signature on the contract.  If the seller does not 
provide both of these notices properly, then the buyer 
may cancel the contract at any time by giving notice of 
cancellation to the operator.
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Health Clubs, Social Referral Clubs, and Buying 
Clubs. 
A health club is a business that charges  fees for the 
use of its facility for physical fitness related activities 
like exercising and weightlifting.  Social referral clubs 
are businesses that match people to facilitate dating 
or general social contact.  A buying club is a business 
that gives benefits to members from the cooperative 
purchase of goods or services.  A member of a health 
club, social referral club, or buying club may cancel 
their membership in writing within three business 
days following the date on which the membership was 
attained.  

Reverse mortgages. 
Federal regulations allow borrowers to rescind a reverse 
mortgage within three days of execution.  State law 
provides that a borrower is not bound for seven days 
after his or her acceptance, in writing, of the lender’s 
written commitment to make the reverse mortgage loan.

Residential Roofing and Siding Contracts. 
A person who has entered into a contract with a 
residential roofer or siding contractor to provide goods 
and services to be paid by the insured from the proceeds 
of a property or casualty insurance policy has the right 
to cancel the contract within 72 hours after the person 
has been notified by his or her insurer that the claim was 
denied. 

Agricultural Contracts. 
In general, an agricultural contract is a written contract 
between a contractor (someone who buys agricultural 
commodities grown or raised in Minnesota, or pays 
someone to grow or raise agricultural commodities in 
the state) and a producer (someone who produces an 
agricultural commodity in an amount larger than his or 
her family’s use).  A producer may cancel an agricultural 
contract by mailing a written cancellation notice to the 
contractor within three business days after he or she 
receives a copy of the signed contract, or until a later 
deadline specific in the contract.

Other types of contracts and transactions not mentioned 
above may also be subject to a “cooling-off” period or 
cancellation.  In addition, some contracts may be deemed 
void or their terms held inapplicable if a consumer 
is defrauded.  If you have questions about whether a 
particular contract or transaction is subject to a “cooling-
off” period or cancellation, you may wish to promptly 
contact a private attorney to discuss your situation.

For more information, or to file a complaint, you may 
contact the Minnesota Attorney General’s Office as 
follows:

Office of Minnesota Attorney General 
Lori Swanson 

445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1400 
St. Paul, MN 55101 

651-296-3353 or 800-657-3787 
TTY: 651-297-7206 or 800-366-4812 

www.ag.state.mn.us
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